I love gardening, but there are certain annoyances that make me crazy and wrestling with the garden hose ranks near the top of my list. Why? Well three main reasons: Kinkiness (No, I don’t mean the fun kind), ease of Coiling, and Weight. Expandable fabric hoses have popped up on the market (no pun intended) over the past couple of years promising to fix these issues. Unfortunately, my experience with them has been less than positive.

So it was with some trepidation that I eyed the Zero-G from Teknor Apex sitting by my front door.

IMG_5249

My dad had recently become a Zero-G convert and left me one as an early birthday present, cause that’s the kinda guy he is.

Immediately you notice the striking octagonal package, and the bold statements on the side that promise hose nirvana:

  • 50% Lighter weight
  • Jobsite tough – abrasion, leak and puncture resistant
  • Kink-free, easy to maneuver and store
  • Does NOT retract or expand

OMG, it’s like they peered inside my garden hose soul and checked every box on my wishlist (or, you know, something like that.)

But alas, I have been duped before, people. I know all the promises.

Can the Zero-G really deliver?

Watch my YouTube live Unboxing video below to find out… or scroll down and read on.

 

The short answer is a qualified Yes!

Why a “qualified” yes? Well, primarily because  I have not had the hose long enough to know if it will last. And since I have seen video evidence of other people’s Zero-G hoses bursting well before the 5 year warranty has run out, it seems I have to qualify… for now.

But let’s focus on the positive, shall we?

After a few tests with the Zero-G under real garden conditions, I can safely report that it was up to the tasks I put before it.

Image result for check mark art No Kinkiness!

Zero-G no kink

I even tried kinking the hose on purpose to see what would happen, and I couldn’t even get the water flow to stop. Nice!

Image result for check mark art Easy to coil!

Zero-G one handed

It was so easy to coil in fact I did a little dance. Really. It was embarrassing, but I could not help myself.

Image result for check mark art Lightweight!

The Zero-G compresses slightly as you coil it and much of the water ran out of it making it one-hand light. Perfect.

Image result for check mark art Easy to use!

Zero-G aluminum

The aluminum hardware gave me pause for a minute – I wasn’t sure how durable it would be – but the minute I threaded it on the spigot the first time my concerns, eh, washed away. I also appreciate the heavily textured wide grip that makes it easy to screw on, even when your hands are wet.

Dragging the Zero-G around the yard is simple and the slick outer cover never catches on corners or walls.

Bottom line: if you are in the market for a new garden hose, you should consider the Zero-G from Teknor Apex.

Overall Grade 4 out of 5

4 of 5 Star Art

Available at Amazon: http://a.co/33DuOwI

@teknorapexconsumer

EDITOR’S NOTE: This is not a sponsored post as much as I wish it was. When I become super popular and have sold out completely, I expect the views and opinions shared here will still be 100% my own.

If you like this post why not let me know by joining my mailing list

 

